How to Get a Colorado Medical Marijuana Card


  • $60-$100




  • YES


  • 18

Colorado was the second state to legalize recreational marijuana officially. This law was implemented over a decade after the state permitted MMJ.

Now that it is possible to purchase recreational marijuana, what’s the point of going through the MMJ process in Colorado? As it happens, there are some good reasons for becoming a medical marijuana cardholder. First of all, your cannabis is cheaper due to lower taxes. While recreational users pay a 15% sales tax, MMJ cardholders are subject to a 2.9% tax rate. If you are a regular user, the cost of the application process is value for money in the long term.

You may also discover that a dispensary has a “medical” side and a “recreational” one. You may see more potent THC products, and you can also purchase a higher amount than an adult-use customer. Also, MMJ patients aged 18+ can apply, and there is also a provision for minors. Only those aged 21+ can purchase recreational weed in Colorado.

Furthermore, despite marijuana being legal for adult use in the state, certain counties don’t allow it. Therefore, if you believe the above advantages are worth the effort, keep reading to learn how to get a CO medical card.

Need a Medical Marijuana Card ?

Let us help by Starting Here

Colorado Medical Marijuana Laws

It is legal for adults aged 21+ to possess up to two ounces of marijuana in Colorado. Also, the transfer of two ounces to another adult for no remuneration is permitted. Possessing a higher amount is a petty offense, although you may face prison for more than one infraction. If caught with more than six ounces, it is a misdemeanor with possible prison time, while possessing 12+ ounces is a felony.

colorado medical marijuanas card

The illegal sale of any amount of weed is a misdemeanor in CO and carries a possible prison sentence of 6-18 months. The sale of more than four ounces is a felony, with 6-24 months in jail as the possible penalty.

While it is legal to grow up to six plants in Colorado, cultivating more is a felony offense, as is the possession of 3+ ounces of hash and concentrates. Therefore, if you want to possess higher quantities of weed and enjoy greater legal protection, consider applying for a Colorado MMJ card.

How to Get a Colorado Medical Marijuana Card

Getting your “Red Card” in Colorado is a straightforward process. While you can still go through the snail-mail process, applying online is a better idea.

Step 1 – Get in Touch with a CO Healthcare Provider

A physician’s recommendation is a prerequisite for those seeking an MMJ card in Colorado. Finding a cannabis-friendly physician in the state should prove incredibly easy.

Step 2 – Schedule a Consultation

During the consultation, the doctor will discuss your health condition, lifestyle, and whether you are qualified. They will then determine whether you are eligible. If the physician approves you, they will provide you with a signed certification. Please note that a doctor of osteopathic medicine (D.O.) is also allowed to provide MMJ recommendations.

Since January 2022, first-time applicants aged 18–20 must get provider certifications from two doctors operating in different medical practices. Until that point, MMJ applicants aged 18–20 had to complete that step upon renewing their card, too.

Step 3 – Sign up for a Colorado State Government Account

You can complete this step before or after seeing a doctor. Go to the official Colorado medical marijuana website to create your patient account. You will complete your application here and upload the relevant documentation. You can also use this account to renew your card when it is about to expire. Make sure you have a valid state ID or driver’s license.

Step 4 – Register with the Official CO Medical Marijuana Program

You should have everything you need to finish the application at this stage. The website asks for personal information and details about your cannabis use. You can pick your preferred access to MMJ, whether you want to use dispensaries or grow your supply. There is also the opportunity to add a caregiver. Upload your doctor’s certification with the application and send it.

Some people recommend notarizing your application. You can’t use your caregiver, physician, or person signing the payment form as your notary. Submit the forms within ten days of the notary’s signature. A complete application includes the following:

  • Signed physician’s certification
  • A copy of your ID
  • A fully completed MMJ form

You must also make the payment at this time. If you decide to apply by post, send it to the following address:

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South

Denver, Colorado


You must send a mailed application via certified mail.

Please note that there are severe penalties for those convicted of fraudulently using an MMJ card in Colorado. The possible punishment consists of a $750 fine and up to 120 days in jail.

Step 5 – Visit a Dispensary

You can print your card once the application is approved. Your Red Card has an expiration and issue date based on when your application is accepted. Now, you can access the remarkable number of licensed dispensaries in Colorado.

Who Can Apply for a Colorado Medical Marijuana Card?

To apply for a medical card in CO, you must be a resident of Colorado, aged 18+ and have a qualifying medical condition.

Cost of MMJ Card in CO

The medical marijuana card cost in CO is $29.50, and it is the same amount to renew. The fee is waived if your household income is 185% or less than the Federal Poverty Guidelines. In this case, you must complete a specific form. The consultation fees in Colorado are among the lowest in the United States. On average, you will pay between $60 and $100.

Colorado MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions

Despite Colorado’s cannabis-friendly reputation, the list of qualifying conditions is shorter than in many states. They are:

colorado mmj card

  • Autism spectrum disorder
  • Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Persistent muscle spasms
  • PTSD
  • Seizures
  • Severe nausea
  • Severe pain

Other CO medical marijuana card qualifying conditions are subject to approval by the Colorado Board of Health.

How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in CO?

When you complete the process online, it takes 1-3 business days for denial or approval. All applications must be submitted within six months of the doctor’s exam. In contrast, it can take 6-8 weeks if you decide to mail your application.

How to Renew My Colorado Medical Card?

Start the renewal process at least 30 days before the MMJ card’s expiration date. The renewal process involves consulting with a licensed doctor again. On this occasion, they only need to provide an updated certification. Your card is valid for one year.

Other Information on the CO Medical Marijuana License Process

Hopefully, we have made the process seem as straightforward as it is! There is other important information about the program, and we have decided to provide it as answers to FAQs.

What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in Colorado?

Pretty much anything you can think of! It is possible to buy edibles, topicals, concentrates, marijuana flower, and much more.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado Online

There are plenty of providers that enable you to complete your doctor’s consultation online. Leafwell offers services for $99, while Veriheal also makes it easy to chat with a physician. The consultation should take no longer than 15 minutes, and you’ll receive your certification immediately if approved. Furthermore, reputable companies will refund your money if you’re not approved.

Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in Colorado?

Applicants aged 17 or less require two doctors to diagnose them with a debilitating medical condition. At least one of these physicians must explain the risks and benefits of MMJ to the applicant and parents, who must live in Colorado. Both parents must consent to the use of cannabis in writing, and one must apply in writing to serve as a caregiver.

Where Can I Purchase MMJ in Colorado?

While the answer isn’t “everywhere,” it certainly seems like it! Between licensed recreational and MMJ stores, there are well over 1,000 dispensaries in Colorado. The state also has among the highest marijuana tax revenues in the nation. The industry is oversaturated in CO, and you’ll have no problem finding premium-grade buds at exceptional prices.

How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?

When you have your Red Card, you can buy up to two ounces of marijuana flower per purchase. The limit is eight grams if you decide to purchase cannabis concentrate or edibles. The new daily purchasing limits in Colorado came into effect in January 2022. Before then, MMJ patients could purchase up to 40 grams of cannabis concentrate per day!


A patient’s provider can authorize them to buy more than the sales limit. However, in this scenario, the patient needs a Uniform Certification Form from the state’s Marijuana Enforcement Division that their provider has filled out.

Can You Grow Marijuana in Colorado with a Medical Marijuana Card?

You are allowed to grow up to six plants; a maximum of three can be mature and flowering at one time. Furthermore, the limit per residence is 12 plants, no matter how many adults live there.

MMJ patients can have up to 24 plants at home if they register with state and local authorities. Also, they must provide notice to the city/county if required and ensure there isn’t a limit on the number of marijuana plants grown in residential properties in their jurisdiction. The marijuana crop must remain out of view of the public, with adequate safety protocols.

Until a few years ago, MMJ patients were allowed to grow up to 99 plants if their physician said there was a medical need.

Where Can I Use My MMJ?

Colorado MMJ patients are not permitted to use cannabis in a way that endangers the health or well-being of any person. You are also not allowed to use it in a public place. Make sure you consume it at home or in a private residence.

Does Colorado Have MMJ Reciprocity?

No, there are no reciprocity laws for out-of-state MMJ patients. However, they are free to visit the state and purchase an ounce per transaction if they are 21+.

What Are the Caregiver Rules?

You are allowed to appoint an individual aged 18+ to become your caregiver. However, they can’t be your physician, have a licensed MMJ business, or have a primary caregiver themselves. There are four different types of caregivers, according to Colorado’s MMJ program:

  • Advising: Provides advice to MMJ patients on the use of cannabis
  • Parents: For patients aged 17 or younger
  • Cultivating: Grows cannabis on behalf of the patient
  • Transporting: Is permitted to transport the MMJ to housebound patients

There is a separate caregiver account on the official Colorado MMJ website. A caregiver can have a maximum of five patients at a time. Meanwhile, a patient can only have one primary caregiver at a time.

What If I Lose My Medical Card in Colorado?

There is no clearly defined process if you lose your Red Card. Your best option is to contact the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment and request a replacement card. On the plus side, if you’re 21+, you can still purchase marijuana from a recreational dispensary while you wait for your new card.

When Did Medical Marijuana in Colorado Become Legal?

Along with California, Colorado is arguably one of the most famous marijuana-friendly states. It was among the first to permit MMJ when 54% of voters approved Amendment 20 in November 2000.

The state was narrowly beaten into second place by Washington in terms of becoming the first American state to allow adult-use cannabis. Amendment 64 was enacted in November 2012 and became official the following month. The first recreational sale happened in January 2014.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Denver

Getting an MMJ card in Denver is extremely easy. Many licensed physicians are ready to provide consultations, and you can also talk to them online. Once you have your MMJ card, you’ll find a wide choice of dispensaries within walking distance, depending on where in the city you live.

MMJ Card for Veterans in CO

Qualifying conditions include PTSD and severe pain, so veterans may find it easier to attain an MMJ card than in many other states.

Final Thoughts on Getting a Colorado Medical Marijuana Card

Applying for an MMJ card in Colorado is extremely straightforward. The application fee is reasonable, and the cost of a doctor’s consultation is among the lowest in the nation. Once you get your card, you have easy access to an extraordinary number of products at highly competitive prices.

As you benefit from lower taxation and access to more products than recreational users, you may find it well worth applying for a Colorado marijuana medical card.

Need a Medical Marijuana Card ?

Let us help by Starting Here
Join The Discussion

By clicking "Post Comment” you agree with our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

TOC Protection Status © 2000 - 2024 All Rights Reserved Digital Millennium Copyright Act Services Ltd. |

WayofLeaf use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. More Information