CONSULTATION FEE RANGE
MMJ PURCHASING LIMITS
- UP TO THREE OUNCES OF USABLE CANNABIS IN A SINGLE TRANSACTION
MINIMUM AGE LIMIT
Medical marijuana was only legalized in Oklahoma a few years ago, but it quickly became one of the fastest-growing MMJ programs in the United States.
This is, of course, great news for the tens of thousands of individuals in the state suffering from a qualifying condition (such as pain, anxiety, PTSD, etc.). Now, quick and easy access to high-quality medicinal cannabis is a genuine possibility.
This article explains everything you need to know about how to get an OK medical card. It includes information on the application process, the doctor recommendation forms, and the required fees. First, however, let’s check out the general cannabis laws in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Laws
To use cannabis legally, you must apply for an MMJ card through the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) website. Otherwise, you’re risking prison time for using the plant, as recreational cannabis remains illegal. Also, Oklahoma has NOT decriminalized marijuana, although there is some confusion surrounding the issue.
Being caught in possession of any amount of the substance is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of up to $1,000 and 12 months in prison. The unlicensed sale of any amount of marijuana is a felony and carries a possible jail term of two years to life plus a $20,000 fine. The sale of the drug to a minor or within 2,000 feet of public housing, public parks, or schools carries a double amount of prison time and double the fine.
Growing cannabis without an MMJ card is a felony. You could receive a jail term of between 20 years and life. Unless you successfully petition the court to have your record sealed or expunged, misdemeanor offenses remain part of your criminal record for life. Misdemeanors can impact your search for a job or your ability to rent property in the future.
It is important to note that the Sooner State has a law that decriminalizes the possession of low-level drugs. However, it doesn’t appear to relate specifically to marijuana. Therefore, some police officers rely on old laws to arrest people possessing marijuana without MMJ licenses. It is effectively a situation where you may face prison time in one location but only get a fine in another.
How to Get a Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card
The program is a pretty simple one to apply for. Nonetheless, check out the steps if you are an Oklahoma resident aged 18+ and think MMJ is a viable option.
Step 1 – Get in Touch with an OK Healthcare Provider
Not all Oklahoma doctors are required to participate in the medical marijuana program. Family physicians, in particular, are often reluctant to get involved in the process. Fortunately, you can find a list of physicians that are cannabis-friendly on the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) website.
Step 2 – Schedule a Consultation
There is no need for a doctor to register with the OMMA before signing a Physician Recommendation Form. However, the process is faster when you use a registered doctor. Bring a blank copy of the Recommendation Form when you visit the doctor’s office. You must outline why you believe you need an MMJ card. If you’re approved, it is time to visit the OMMA website.
TYPES OF DOCUMENTS ACCEPTED (Only ONE Needed)
Proof of Residency
Proof of Identity
Full-Face Digital Photograph
See here for detailed instructions for how to submit a digital photograph for your Oklahoma medical marijuana application
Step 3 – Sign Up for an Oklahoma State Government Account
Visit the state’s official MMJ platform to begin your online application. You will need to fill out various online forms and provide the following information:
- Your full legal name and date of birth
- Your permanent mailing address
- Proof of Oklahoma residency
- A clean, color, full-face digital photo
- A telephone number and email address
- Your current physician information
- Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form dated within 30 days of when you submitted the application. OMMA will reject your application if you don’t fully complete the “Certifying Board” section
Here is a table highlighting what types of documents are accepted to fulfill each of the above requirements:
Step 4 – Register with the Official OK Medical Marijuana Program
OMMA reviews your application once you have sent it and paid the fees. If approved, you will receive an approval letter in the mail within 14 days of the application submission. You also get your valid MMJ card that allows you to buy medical marijuana in Oklahoma dispensaries.
You are notified via email if the application is missing the required documents. Your card is valid for two years unless the OMMA revokes it. However, there is also the option to apply for a short-term patient license that lasts for six months.
If the application is denied because of unmet requirements, you receive a letter of denial in the mail within 14 days of submission of the application.
Step 5 – Visit a Dispensary
After receiving your MMJ card, you’re free to shop for weed at one of the state’s numerous dispensaries.
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in OK?
You can apply for a medical marijuana card in OK if you’re a state resident aged 18+ with one of the qualifying conditions we outline a little later.
Cost of MMJ Card in OK
The medical marijuana card cost in OK includes the following fees:
- Standard application fees are $100 plus a $4.30 credit card processing fee
- Reduced-fee applications are available for $20 plus a $2.50 credit card processing fee for those who qualify (and can provide proof of enrollment in) Medicaid (SoonerCare) or Medicare
*[You MUST pay all application fees with a Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card. If you do not have a credit or debit card, find a retail store that offers a prepaid Visa or MasterCard and purchase one there]
You can generally expect to pay an additional $200 for the MMJ evaluation.
OK MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions
Unlike practically every other MMJ state program, there is no defined list of OK medical marijuana card qualifying conditions. You only need the recommendation of a licensed physician. Common reasons for approval include the following:
- Muscle pain
- Body aches
- Loss of appetite
- Neuropathic pain disorders
- Cachexia and wasting syndrome
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
However, it is at the discretion of the physician in question. This is why you should put in the extra time to find a marijuana-friendly one!
It’s worth mentioning that the lack of qualifying conditions was met with outrage in some quarters. Dr. Kevin Taubman, for instance, former president of the Oklahoma State Medical Association, said: “This is a bad public health policy that does not resemble a legitimate medical treatment program.”
How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in OK?
State law requires OMMA to process applications within 14 business days of submission. OMMA sends an email to applicants once staff has reviewed the documentation. If your application is approved, the state may take 1-2 business days to print the MMJ card, which it then mails to your address via United States Postal Service first-class mail.
How to Renew My Oklahoma Medical Card?
First of all, you should try to renew your medical marijuana patient card within 30 days of expiration. The Oklahoma medical marijuana program website has a helpful video outlining how to renew your MMJ card. Here is what to do in a nutshell.
Apart from applying 30 days or less before your card expires, please make sure you have access to your original OMMA account’s email. Get in touch with the program’s call center if you don’t have access.
On the OMMA homepage, look for the “Returning Applicants” button. Sign in to your existing account by entering the requisite information. Check the “License Dashboard” to view your card’s status. Click on the “Actions” button to renew your card. Click on “Patient Renewal,” and your license number will appear on the screen, select it and hit “Save.”
The next step involves hitting “Save and Next,” where you will be greeted with a General Information screen. Make sure all the data is correct, press “Save and Next,” and you’ll go to the Contact Information section. Note that OMMA does not accept P.O Box addresses. Verify the address information and proceed.
Now, make sure the data on the Physician/Condition is accurate. Then you need to answer some questions before including your full signature and the date of the application. In the “Documents” section, upload the necessary documents, including your digital photo and physician recommendation.
In the “Payment” section, you have a final chance to review the information you added. It costs $100 plus a $4.30 service fee to renew your MMJ card. The fee is $20 if you’re a Medicaid, Medicare, or 100% disabled veteran patient. You will receive a payment receipt and application I.D. number. It may sound like a complicated process, but it is relatively straightforward.
Other Information on the OK Medical Marijuana License Process
The Oklahoma marijuana bill, in its current form, is pretty “generous,” to say the least. It permits large purchasing and possession limits, and the two-year validity is twice the length of most other states. In any case, here are a few answers to FAQs about the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Program.
What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in OK?
There are plenty of options once you have an MMJ card in Oklahoma. You’re free to buy marijuana flower, distillate, rosin, edibles, vape pens, and much more.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in OK Online
It is easier than ever to get an MMJ card in Oklahoma online via services such as NuggMD, Leafwell, and Veriheal. Each provider enables you to have an online doctor’s consultation that usually lasts around 15 minutes. Generally speaking, there’s a money-back guarantee if the physician doesn’t give you a recommendation. Once you have the doctor’s approval, you can visit the OMMA website and complete the application.
Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in OK?
Yes. However, you need to obtain two physician signatures on a separate form. A parent or legal guardian must also provide additional information about the patient. Minors are not permitted to smoke or vape any MMJ products unless both recommending physicians agree it is completely necessary.
Where Can I Purchase MMJ in Oklahoma?
The MMJ program in the state has taken off at warp speed. By April 2022, the state already had more than 2,300 dispensaries, more than twice as many as California! Therefore, you should find it incredibly easy to locate one.
How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?
Oklahoma residents with medical marijuana cards can:
- Possess up to 3 ounces of cannabis in public
- Store up to 8 ounces of cannabis at home
- Possess up to one ounce of cannabis concentrates (including THC oils, waxes, extracts, etc.)
- Possess up to 72 ounces of marijuana-infused edibles
Can You Grow Marijuana in Oklahoma with a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes! You can grow up to six mature plants in a private residence (in addition to six seedlings). However, possession of more than eight ounces is illegal. Therefore, when you harvest your crop, you must process or dispose of it. Unless you have a special license, it is unlawful to sell it, and you are not permitted to donate cannabis.
Where Can I Use My MMJ?
MMJ cardholders must use their marijuana in a private residence.
Does Oklahoma Have Reciprocity with Other States?
Yes. Residents of other states that hold a valid MMJ license in their home state may apply for a temporary permit. This enables them to “buy, use, and grow” medical marijuana from an Oklahoma dispensary. The license is valid for 30 days and cannot exceed the expiration of the out-of-state MMJ card. Temporary Oklahoma MMJ licenses are renewable.
What Are the Caregiver Rules?
When applying for a marijuana card in Oklahoma, patients can also request a caregiver. You will need to provide valid/documented information on why you need a caregiver.
You must submit the caregiver designation application form, and the caregiver needs to obtain an MMJ caregiver license from the OMMA. Once approved, a caregiver can grow cannabis in their home on your behalf or purchase it for you.
The caregiver’s license is valid until the expiration date of the associated patient’s license. This means a maximum duration of two years. Fortunately, there is no application fee associated with a caregiver’s license application in Oklahoma.
Governor Stitt signed SB 1033 into law in May 2021. The new legislation allows caregivers to grow up to five cannabis plants for Oklahoma MMJ patients. Incidentally, the law also offers extra protection to doctors who recommend medical marijuana and allows businesses to transfer licenses if ownership changes. Patients can only have one caregiver, whereas caregivers can help up to five licensed patients.
What If I Lose My Medical Card in Oklahoma?
If you lose your card, log into your account in the OMMA licensing portal and complete a replacement card request. You should also do this if you still haven’t received your MMJ card 30+ days after the OMMA approved your application.
When Did Medical Marijuana in Oklahoma Become Legal?
On Tuesday, June 26, 2018, Oklahoma residents voted to approve a bill called SQ 788. It allowed for the physician-recommended use of medical marijuana. A significant majority of American states now have an MMJ program.
Historically, it took states around two years to go from newly-passed legislation to a fully operational MMJ program. With Oklahoma, the process took less than six months. By November 2018, qualified patients were already growing 100% legal cannabis plants in the comfort of their own homes.
The speed at which the Oklahoma medical marijuana program has progressed is almost unprecedented in the United States. OK has among the highest numbers of MMJ patients per capita in America!
However, those hoping for full weed legalization were dealt a blow in September 2022 when the Oklahoma Supreme Court denied a request to put a recreational marijuana petition on the ballot. It may take some time before OK residents have the chance to vote on this pressing issue.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma City
As a resident of Oklahoma City, you are blessed to have a high volume of dispensaries in your locality. Also, it is one of the few places in OK to have decriminalized marijuana. City residents now face a $400 fine for simple marijuana possession but no jail time.
MMJ Card for Veterans in OK
As there are no specific qualifying conditions, veterans seeking MMJ can apply if they have an issue such as PTSD, chronic pain, or anxiety. Several providers now offer discounted medical marijuana cards to veterans.
Final Thoughts on Getting an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card
Although the Oklahoma MMJ program isn’t perfect, it has enjoyed a relatively quick start compared to most states.
According to some industry experts, Oklahoma’s medical marijuana market is the nation’s most liberal. It has the country’s largest number of MMJ dispensaries and the highest per capita level of cardholders.
With a growing number of cannabis-friendly doctors and no defined list of qualifying conditions, it is getting easier to gain approval for an MMJ card. The small application fee for a business license also explains why Oklahoma has so many cannabis businesses.
All of the above means medical marijuana in the state is relatively inexpensive compared to most others. Follow the guidelines outlined above to apply for an Oklahoma medical marijuana card if you believe you’re eligible.