CONSULTATION FEE RANGE
MMJ PURCHASING LIMITS
- A MAXIMUM OF 120 GRAMS DRIED MARIJUANA FLOWER OR 36 GRAMS OF THC CANNABIS EXTRACT ON A ROLLING 30-DAY CYCLE
- YES – ADULTS AGED 21+ CAN GROW 2 PLANTS AT HOME
MINIMUM AGE LIMIT
Maryland has an established medical marijuana program, and the state’s voters said “yes” to Question 4 in November 2022, legalizing adult-use weed. It was an event almost a decade in the making and could have a profound long-term effect on the state’s MMJ program.
Also, the state wasted no time creating its recreational sales framework, with legal sales beginning in July 2023. However, medical marijuana patients have a much higher possession limit, so getting your MMJ card is potentially worth it.
This guide outlines the process which ensures successful applicants don’t have to renew for some time. First, however, check out Maryland’s marijuana laws and penalties.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws
The state decriminalized possession of 10 grams or less in 2014. It was a necessary step because Maryland had the fifth-highest marijuana possession arrest rate in America at that time.
Before full legalization, being caught with over 10 grams was classified as a misdemeanor with a potential prison sentence of 12 months. However, from January 1, 2023, the possession of up to 1.5 ounces was decriminalized in Maryland. Now, it is legal for adults aged 21+ to possess up to 1.5 ounces of marijuana.
Possessing weed with intent to distribute is a felony crime with a possible prison term of five years the penalty. The new recreational law means adults aged 21+ can grow up to two plants per household. However, in Maryland, growing 3+ plants is punished severely. You could spend up to three years in prison if convicted!
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland
Until January 1, 2019, you only required a patient ID number and a government-issued ID to get marijuana from a Maryland dispensary. However, the MMCC then decided that all patients must get a medical cannabis ID card at the time of registration.
Moreover, the MMCC agreed that from April 1, 2019, all patients had to show their medical marijuana ID cards when buying cannabis at a dispensary
Effective April 20, 2021, it is no longer necessary for patient and caregiver ID cards to include a photo of the individual in question. However, the MMCC still requires a valid photo with a white background for the application process and verifying an ID at a marijuana dispensary.
Step 1 – Gather Your Personal Information
Before going to the MMCC website, you will need specific information to proceed; this includes:
- Your full 9-digit Social Security Number
- A valid email account that you will use to apply for your MMJ card.
- An electronic copy of a U.S. Government-issued photo ID. Acceptable IDs include a passport, military ID, Motor Vehicle Administration ID card, or driver’s license.
- Proof of your address in Maryland. You need two documents. Options include a utility bill, property tax bill, bank account statement, or car insurance policy.
- An electronic copy of a clear photograph taken within the previous six months. If you are a hospice patient, you can get a letter from the Attending of Hospice on Record physician instead of a recent photo.
Apart from the photo, all of the above must be dated within the last 90 days.
Step 2 – Sign Up for a Maryland State Government Account
Once you have the requisite information, go to the MMJ patients page on the official MMCC website and scroll to the bottom to choose the correct registration process. The application involves answering questions, including:
- Are you under the age of 18?
- Are you in hospice care?
You don’t need to provide any medical records at this stage. Once you complete and submit the application, you will receive a verification email. Click on the link to ensure your account becomes verified. Your registration is valid for three years.
Step 3 – Play the Waiting Game
Now, you have to wait for the MMCC to review your application. If you don’t get a follow-up email within 45 days, you need to phone them or send another email. We recommend calling them.
Step 4 – Schedule a Consultation
The follow-up email sent by the MMCC contains a patient ID number. Now, you can visit an MMCC-registered physician to receive the valid written certification you need to buy medical marijuana in Maryland. You can’t use your family doctor if they aren’t on the list. However, there are hundreds of healthcare providers to choose from.
One possible issue is that you must have a bona fide provider-patient relationship with the provider. However, finding a registered provider willing to give you the written certification you require isn’t challenging.
Finding a registered provider willing to give you the written certification you require isn’t challenging.
Step 5 – Visit a Dispensary
Once you have received a valid written certification from a registered provider, you can visit a licensed dispensary in Maryland to purchase marijuana. When you visit one of these dispensaries, you must present your MMCC ID card. The seller will verify your certification before allowing you to complete the purchase.
You have the option to print a temporary ID card which is valid for 90 days. If you get certified but fail to purchase marijuana from a licensed dispensary within 120 days, the certification will expire. If this happens, you will need to obtain a brand-new one.
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in MD?
At one time, it was possible to apply for a medical marijuana card in MD if you were a non-resident, and you needed to follow the same steps as residents. However, as of December 2017, the MMCC decided to extend its administrative hold on non-residents until further notice. As a result, applications from non-Maryland residents are no longer under consideration.
This means you are only eligible if you’re a state resident aged 18+ with a qualifying condition.
Cost of MMJ Card in MD
The medical marijuana card cost in MD has been reduced thanks to the MMCC’s decision to cut the application fee from $50 to $25 in August 2022. The cost of a doctor’s certification ranges from $150 to $250.
MD MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions
The list of MD medical marijuana card qualifying conditions includes:
- Chronic or severe pain
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe nausea
- Any other chronic and severe medical condition where other treatments have proved ineffective
How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in MD?
The MMCC should send applicants an email within 45 days. However, we’ve heard of people receiving this email within five days, while 20 days seems standard outside busy periods.
How to Renew My Maryland Medical Card?
Renewing is easy; go to the MMCC landing page and log into your account. Click on ‘Renew Registration,’ answer a few questions, and update your address if necessary. The MMCC will review it and provide you with approval via email.
It is also $25 when you want to renew, but the renewal registration lasts six years! However, you still need to be recertified annually by a licensed Maryland physician.
Other Information on the MD Medical Marijuana License Process
Here are the answers to some common questions about the Maryland medical marijuana program.
What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in MD?
A wide world of weed is available to you in Maryland once you have an MMJ card! Apart from buying cannabis flower, you can also get topicals, vape products, extracts, and edibles.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in MD Online
Veriheal is one of the top-ranked companies in helping MMJ patients receive certification. It enables you to book a consultation with a licensed doctor in good standing in Maryland, and this meeting usually only takes about 15 minutes.
Veriheal charges $149 for its service, but you must also pay the registration fee. On the plus side, the company offers a money-back guarantee if you’re not approved for MMJ.
Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in MD?
You can apply for an MMJ card in Maryland if you are a minor. However, you need at least one caregiver assigned to you. This individual must be a parent or legal guardian who is 21+ years of age. You must complete additional forms registering a minor patient, and one of these forms must be notarized.
Where Can I Purchase MMJ in Maryland?
Follow the link to find a list of licensed dispensaries. The MMCC has issued pre-approvals to 102 companies, although they are not all open at present.
How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?
Qualified patients can purchase up to 120 grams of dried cannabis OR 36 grams of a THC product every 30 days and possess this amount as a maximum. However, you could gain a larger allowance if you receive a special determination from a doctor who says you need more. Maryland calculates purchases on a rolling 30-day cycle rather than per calendar month.
Incidentally, there are specific rules surrounding cannabis edibles. MMJ dispensaries can’t sell edibles with more than 10mg of THC per dose and 100mg of THC per package unless the MMCC approves the product.
Can You Grow Marijuana in Maryland with a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes. Question 4 included a provision to grow marijuana. Adults aged 21+ can now cultivate up to two cannabis plants in their homes out of public view.
Where Can I Use My MMJ?
MMJ cardholders can only consume cannabis in a private residence. It is illegal to use it in public, and you aren’t even allowed to ride a bicycle under the influence of marijuana.
Does Maryland Accept Out-of-State Cards?
No. At present, Maryland does not have reciprocity with other states. Therefore, your out-of-state MMJ card is not valid in MD.
What Are the Caregiver Rules?
You can appoint a maximum of two caregivers, and they apply via the Commission’s Caregiver Registry. You can only nominate someone aged 21+ who can provide care for a maximum of five patients. Caregivers must register with the MMCC and purchase ID cards from the Commission before buying cannabis from any dispensary. A caregiver’s registration is valid for two years.
What If I Lose My Medical Card in Maryland?
If you lose your MMJ card in Maryland, you must log into your MMCC account and report it. A replacement card costs $100!
When Did Medical Marijuana in Maryland Become Legal?
In May 2013, Governor O’Malley signed legislation that established an MMJ program. The Maryland Legislature approved HB 881 in April 2014, and this allowed for the creation of an MMJ infrastructure. However, the state delayed the program for over three years. Finally, Maryland’s medical marijuana program became operational in December 2017.
In 2022, over 65% of MD residents said “yes” to Question 4, legalizing recreational marijuana in the state. The new law made it legal to possess up to 1.5 ounces of marijuana and cultivate two plants at home. It went into effect in July 2023.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Baltimore
There are plenty of clinics offering certification in the Baltimore area. Once you have your MMJ card, choose between multiple licensed dispensaries. Organizations such as Green Labs, Star Buds, and Pure Life Wellness all have stores within Baltimore.
MMJ Card for Veterans in MD
The MMCC website states that veterans must complete the same application process as everyone else. This is because they can’t get marijuana via the Veterans Affairs health system.
Final Thoughts on Getting a Maryland Medical Marijuana Card
The Maryland MMJ program is well-established, and getting approved is easier than a couple of years ago. The maximum purchase amount is reasonable and should be enough for most patients. Moreover, you don’t have to undergo the renewal process for six years, although you must still have annual recertification.
MD voters said yes to recreational cannabis, and sales began in July 2023. However, with an MMJ card, you still benefit from a higher possession limit