CONSULTATION FEE RANGE
- $150 – $300
MMJ PURCHASING LIMITS
- 30-DAY SUPPLY AS PER THE REQUIREMENTS ON THE DOCTOR’S CERTIFICATION
- A PHYSICIAN CAN RECOMMEND A LARGER AMOUNT ON THE CERTIFICATION
MINIMUM AGE LIMIT
West Virginia residents had to wait a long time before MMJ sales became a reality in the state. Even though medical marijuana technically became legal in 2017, licensed sales didn’t begin until the end of 2021.
There were countless delays, not to mention problems regarding the fees associated with implementing the act. Thankfully, the first MMJ dispensary opened in Morgantown in November 2021, with many more likely to open in the next couple of years. Now that you can legally purchase medical marijuana in West Virginia, keep reading to discover how to get your WV medical card.
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws
In West Virginia, the possession of any amount of marijuana without an MMJ card is a misdemeanor. You could spend between 90 days and six months in prison if convicted. The illegal sale of any amount is a felony with a mandatory minimum jail term of one year, potentially rising to five.
Penalties for growing weed in WV are based upon the aggregate weight of the plants. Therefore, cultivating even one plant could result in a six-month jail term.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in West Virginia
Now that medical marijuana is legal in West Virginia, applying for an MMJ card is relatively straightforward.
Before you begin, make sure you have the following documentation:
- Photo ID
- Digital photo
- Proof of West Virginia residency
- Proof of eligibility if requesting a financial hardship waiver
Once you have the above, follow these steps to get your West Virginia medical marijuana card.
Step 1 – Get in Touch with a WV Healthcare Provider & Schedule a Consultation
You will need to use a doctor registered with the West Virginia Department of Human and Health Resources Bureau who has completed the mandatory four-hour course. The doctor will conduct a thorough assessment of your medical history. You must also complete a physical examination to prove you have a condition that qualifies you for an MMJ card in West Virginia.
Expect all physicians to take the issue seriously. If they knowingly certify individuals who do not qualify, they face a felony charge.
Step 2 – Sign up for a West Virginia State Government Account
Once you receive the physician’s certification, you can apply for your MMJ card in the Office of Medical Cannabis’ (OMC) official website registration portal. You must register for an account if you don’t already have one. At this stage, you can complete the application. Please note that only the physician can submit a copy of the Completed Patient Certification form directly to the OMC.
If your application is denied, the OMC will inform you of the reason. For instance, you must change it and resubmit if it needs a correction.
Step 3 – Visit a Dispensary
Once you receive your ID card, you can buy weed from an approved dispensary, and the card is valid for 12 months.
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in WV?
You must be at least 18 years of age and have a qualifying condition to apply for a medical marijuana card in WV. If you are under 18, you need an authorized caregiver to avail of the program.
Cost of MMJ Card in WV
The medical marijuana card cost in WV includes an application fee of $50, but you can have this fee waived if you request a financial hardship waiver. Patients with a household income of 200% of the federal poverty line or lower are eligible. You must mail the payment to the following address:
Office of Medical Cannabis
350 Capitol Street, Room 523
Charleston, WV 25301
The cost of the doctor’s consultation varies significantly. You could pay anywhere from $150 to $300.
WV MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions
The list of WV medical marijuana card qualifying conditions includes:
- Multiple sclerosis
- Severe, chronic, or intractable pain, which is neuropathic in origin, or else opiate and conventional therapy have proven ineffective in treating the condition.
- Sickle cell anemia
- Parkinson’s disease
- Terminal illness
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Damage to the spinal cord nervous tissue with an “objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity”
- Intractable seizures
How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in WV?
According to the West Virginia MMJ program, the OMC will review your application 30-60 days after receiving your application and payment. You will get an email outlining your application’s status at that stage.
How to Renew My West Virginia Medical Card?
Your MMJ card is valid for 12 months and you must renew it before it expires to continue enjoying the legal protection it provides. Schedule another consultation with a physician to earn recertification. Sign into the state’s patient registry to renew your registration and get medical marijuana for another 12 months.
Other Information on the WV Medical Marijuana License Process
Although the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Program is finally underway, not everything is clear. However, we have tried our best to provide as much information as possible.
What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in WV?
MMJ patients have access to the following:
- Dry flower
- Dermal patches
While the vaporization of dry marijuana flower is legal, it is against the law to smoke marijuana.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in WV Online
Veriheal, one of the biggest brands in the sphere, now offers its services to West Virginia MMJ patients. It helps schedule an appointment at a time that suits you. The consultation generally only lasts 10-15 minutes, and you can get approved on the same day.
You can generally expect to pay $199 for the appointment, doctor’s certification (prices sometimes vary), and 24/7 customer service, although you must also pay the $50 application fee. On the plus side, Veriheal offers a 100% money-back guarantee.
Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in WV?
Patients under 18 (minors) can get medical marijuana via a caregiver who can be a parent or legal guardian. They can also use any individual approved by the Bureau if no appropriate parent or legal guardian is available.
Where Can I Purchase MMJ in West Virginia?
West Virginia has the unfortunate distinction of being the state with the slowest MMJ rollout. The first dispensary didn’t open until November 2021, an incredible 55 months after legalization!
Initially, there were only a handful of MMJ dispensaries in the state, but now they number in the dozens. The OMC posted a list of 100 dispensary permit holders. Trulieve and the Landing Cannabis Dispensary are among those who have opened several stores within WV.
How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?
The law allows for a 30-day supply of cannabis at one time. However, there is no guidance regarding the number of ounces. It is up to the physician in question to include a specific amount. Remember, they are not legally allowed to prescribe MMJ. They can only provide certification for MMJ.
Can You Grow Marijuana in West Virginia with a Medical Marijuana Card?
No. The current version of the program does not allow home cultivation.
Where Can I Use My MMJ?
You can only use your MMJ at home or in a private residence. Please note that the illegal usage of medical marijuana in West Virginia comes with stiff penalties.
Does West Virginia Accept Out-of-State MMJ Cards?
At present, the answer is “no.” However, the Bureau will likely enter into reciprocity agreements with states in the future. These locations must have comparable requirements for the usage and lawful purchase of medical marijuana. Patients with a terminal illness will undoubtedly be the first to benefit from such an agreement.
There is a possibility that other states may accept WV MMJ cards, but West Virginia does not accept out-of-state cards.
What Are the Caregiver Rules?
The caregiver must undergo a criminal background check, apply for an ID card, and register with the Bureau of Health. Only those aged 21+ may apply. The patient also needs to have an ID card issued by the Bureau. Incidentally, a caregiver can be designated by a maximum of five patients. Each MMJ patient can select a maximum of two caregivers.
What if I Lose My Medical Card in West Virginia?
You should get in touch with the Office of Medical Cannabis and request a replacement card as soon as possible.
When Did Medical Marijuana in West Virginia Become Legal?
It has been a slow road to cannabis legalization in West Virginia. Medical marijuana bills were introduced in the state each year between 2010 and 2015. However, there were enough opponents to prevent any bill from passing into law. Finally, the resistance was broken in 2017 when Governor Jim Justice signed Senate Bill 386 into law on April 19. This legalized weed for specific medical conditions.
Unfortunately, a series of delays meant that the first licensed dispensary didn’t open until November 2021! Attempts to decriminalize marijuana possession in West Virginia have unfortunately stalled.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Charleston
Residents of the state’s most populous city should find it fairly easy to locate cannabis-friendly physicians willing to provide certification. Once you have an MMJ card in Charleston, there are several licensed dispensaries to choose from. Trulieve, Kancare Health, and The Landing Cannabis Dispensary all have a presence in the city.
MMJ Card for Veterans in WV
PTSD is one of the qualifying conditions, so military veterans living in West Virginia may be eligible for a medical marijuana card. You must complete the standard application process, although you may find that some clinics offer a military discount.
Final Thoughts on Getting a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card
It took a long time, but West Virginia residents can finally apply for an MMJ card and make legal purchases from dispensaries. The number of dispensaries in the state is growing, with big names such as Trulieve and Cannabist opening stores within the state. If you’re eligible for a West Virginia medical marijuana card, apply today and gain a semblance of legal protection in a state that has yet to decriminalize the substance.