CONSULTATION FEE RANGE
- $79 – $200
MMJ PURCHASING LIMITS
- MAXIMUM OF 2.5 OUNCES IN A 14-DAY PERIOD
- YES, BUT ONLY IF YOU LIVE MORE THAN 25 MILES FROM A LICENSED DISPENSARY
MINIMUM AGE LIMIT
In July 2017, Nevada became just the sixth state in the U.S. to legalize the recreational use of marijuana for adults over the age of 21. Now, just like neighboring Oregon and California, residents of Nevada can legally walk into a marijuana dispensary and purchase high-THC products. As a result, they don’t require a medical marijuana card.
However, valid MMJ cardholders can receive price cuts and tax breaks (in addition to a broader selection of cannabis products). As a result, many people still wonder how to apply for medical marijuana in Nevada.
We frequently get asked:
- Is it worth applying, even though cannabis is now fully legal in the state?
- How much does the application cost?
- What medical condition(s) qualify for an MMJ card?
Therefore, in this quick guide, we provide answers to the above and discuss everything you need to know about getting an NV medical card.
Nevada Medical Marijuana Laws
Don’t think there are no punishments for breaking cannabis regulations now that the state allows recreational weed. Adults aged 21+ can possess up to an ounce, but they will be charged with a misdemeanor and receive a $600 fine for public consumption. The same penalty applies for the possession of over an ounce.
You are allowed to gift up to an ounce for no remuneration. However, selling over an ounce without a license is a felony, with a potential four-year prison sentence and a mandatory minimum jail term of a year. The cultivation of more than 12 plants carries a similar penalty.
If you want to possess more than an ounce of cannabis and have a qualifying medical condition, we recommend applying for an MMJ card in Nevada. Keep reading to find out how.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada
Given that adult-use cannabis is legal in Nevada, it is hardly surprising that the MMJ application process is straightforward. First and foremost, you must be a Nevada resident to apply through the usual process. You must also have one of the qualifying conditions, which we list later on.
Step 1 – Get in Touch with an NV Healthcare Provider
Nevada does not provide a list of healthcare providers who recommend MMJ. Fortunately, “420 clinics” are relatively common in Nevada, so it isn’t much of an issue.
A Physician Assistant, Doctor of Osteopathy (DO), or Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) can complete the Attending Healthcare Provider Statement for you.
Step 2 – Schedule a Consultation
Schedule an appointment with a licensed healthcare provider if you have a qualifying condition. They will review your records, fill out, and sign the mandatory Attending Healthcare Provider Statement.
During the consultation, the doctor will ask you a few questions about your medical history. The goal is to see if you are a suitable candidate for MMJ. By all accounts, Nevada physicians are not particularly strict. If you are honest about your situation, they will likely understand.
Step 3 – Sign Up for a Nevada State Government Account
Hopefully, the doctor will approve you for medical cannabis. When you receive their documentation, you must generate an application packet. Go to the Nevada MMJ program website and register for an account as a “Cardholder.” Scan the form into your phone or computer so you can submit it in the online application.
In most instances, the 420 clinic that provides the recommendation will do this for you. You’ll need to scan the signed form yourself if they don’t.
You also need to scan and upload a copy of the back side of your driver’s license into the online application. When signing into the program, your driver’s license number and your chosen password are your login information.
Suppose you prefer to print and mail your application rather than do it online. In that case, you can do so by mailing the appropriate materials (including a photocopy of your valid Nevada driver’s license) to:
Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health
ATTN: Medical Marijuana Division
4150 Technology Way, Suite 101
Carson City, Nevada 89706
Step 4 – Complete the Rest of the Application & Send
The next step is to complete and submit the remainder of the application online. In Nevada, you can have a one-year or two-year MMJ card. Once all documents are uploaded and you pay the fee, click “Submit.”
After approval, the state emails you a temporary card you can print and use until the physical card arrives.
Step 5 – Visit a Dispensary
With the MMJ card in your possession, it is time to see what dispensaries in Nevada have to offer!
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in NV?
Currently, you can only apply for the medical marijuana in NV if you’re a state resident aged 18+.
Cost of an MMJ Card in NV
The medical marijuana card cost in NV includes a $50 fee for a one-year card and $100 for a two-year card. The cost of a consultation varies massively and is up to $200 in some places.
NV MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions
The list of NV medical marijuana card qualifying conditions includes:
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Persistent muscle spasms or seizures
- Severe nausea or pain
- Any other medical condition classified as “debilitating” or “chronic” and approved by the Department of Health and Human Services
How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in NV
On average, the state processes applications in 24-72 hours. If all documentation is correct, you should receive an email with a temporary copy of your MMJ card, valid for 60 days. You can expect the real card to arrive within two weeks.
How to Renew a Nevada Medical Card
To renew your medical marijuana card in Nevada, you’ll need to go through the entire process again. If you believe you need MMJ for a considerable period, it is worth paying for the two-year card to save yourself the hassle.
Other Information on the NV Medical Marijuana License Process
Here are the answers to some of the most common questions regarding medical marijuana in Nevada.
What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in NV?
Once you have an MMJ card in Nevada, there are plenty of options! You can purchase potent marijuana flower, delicious edibles such as macaroons and chocolate bars, kief, vape cartridges, tinctures, and much more.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in NV Online
Although you can still go down the snail mail route, applying for your medical card online makes more sense. Go to the Online Cardholder Registry and start your application. However, please note that you require scanning and printing capabilities.
With services like NuggMD, even the consultation is conducted online. You can go through the process with the doctor in as little as 15 minutes. Please note that online registration is unavailable for minors. Parents/guardians of applicants aged 0-17 must contact the Registry.
The NuggMD service in Nevada costs $79 for a one-year recommendation and $99 for a two-year option. This includes the cost of the online consultation, although you still have to pay the application fee.
Once you receive approval from the doctor, you must visit the state’s MMJ portal and generate your application packet. Forward it to the address listed on the NuggMD site, and the doctor will sign it and return it to you within 48 hours. Now, you can complete your online application.
Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in NV?
If you are the parent or legal guardian of a minor and wish to apply for medical marijuana, you must call the Medical Marijuana Registry at 775-687-7594.
Where Can I Purchase MMJ in Nevada?
The state maintains a list of legal MMJ dispensaries. Nevada has authorized a maximum of 130 licensed dispensaries, a large number given the state’s relatively low population.
How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?
MMJ patients can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis every 14 days with a valid MMJ Card.
Can You Grow Marijuana in Nevada with a Medical Marijuana Card?
Home cultivation is allowed in Nevada with a valid MMJ card. However, you must NOT live within 25 miles of an operating, state-licensed dispensary. An exception is made if you can prove you’re too unwell to travel to a dispensary or have no means of travel. If you meet the requirements for home cultivation, you can grow up to 12 marijuana plants.
Where Can I Use My MMJ?
Even though marijuana is legal for recreational use in Nevada, it is still illegal to consume it in public places. Also, it is illegal to buy cannabis products from anywhere other than a state-licensed Nevada dispensary. However, Assembly Bill 341 means you can soon buy and use marijuana products in special lounges.
You may transport your medical marijuana in your car if you aren’t consuming it. You must also remain within the state’s possession laws. Consuming any form of marijuana while operating a vehicle or driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal.
Does Nevada Accept Out-of-State MMJ Cards?
It is important to note that not all Nevada dispensaries will honor an out-of-state MMJ card. Indeed, there is no official reciprocal agreement in place with any state.
Should you wish to purchase medical marijuana with an out-of-state card, you must complete a state-mandated Non-Resident Cardholder Affidavit Form. You must also show your MMJ card (as well as a driver’s license or state ID) from the state where it was issued.
It is also best to contact your preferred dispensary to understand their exact requirements before heading over. Of course, since marijuana is now legal recreationally in Nevada, anyone over 21 can buy it without an MMJ card.
What Are the Caregiver Rules?
You can assign one caregiver to assist you in buying and using MMJ. Only individuals aged 18+ who are permanent residents of Nevada can become caregivers. They can only help one patient at a time. They are permitted to pick up your MMJ from the designated dispensary, and possess, transport, and administer it on your behalf.
What If I Lose My Medical Card in Nevada?
If you lose your card, or else it is stolen, you can apply for a replacement. Email the back and front of your state-issued I.D. to firstname.lastname@example.org, explain the situation, and request a new card. The Registry will send a new 60-day letter and tell the DMV to send you a new MMJ card. You can expect it to arrive in the mail in 7-10 business days.
When Did Medical Marijuana in Nevada Become Legal?
Nevada banned marijuana in 1923, and it didn’t become legal again until 2001. Due to state law, an MMJ initiative had to pass in two successive elections in 1998 and 2000 to become legal. This is because the new law aimed to amend the state constitution. It took a decade and a half before Nevada had operational licensed dispensaries!
The initiative to Regulate and Tax Marijuana was passed in November 2016, allowing adults aged 21+ to buy, use, and possess up to an ounce of the substance. The first recreational dispensaries opened in July 2017.
There was further good news in June 2021. Governor Sisolak signed Assembly Bill 341 into law. It allows the operation of alcohol-free lounges where people aged 21+ can buy and consume marijuana products. Nevada officials approved regulations in June 2022, paving the way for the first lounges to open in 2023.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Las Vegas
You shouldn’t have too many difficulties finding licensed physicians to certify you in Sin City. Once you have your MMJ card, there are many dispensaries to choose from in Las Vegas, including stores on the famous Strip.
MMJ Card for Veterans in NV
Severe pain and PTSD are on the list of qualifying conditions. Therefore, military veterans living in Nevada have a chance of being approved. Certain clinics offer military discounts for consultations.
Final Thoughts on Getting a Nevada Medical Marijuana Card
Ultimately, applying for a medical marijuana card in Nevada is straightforward. There is also the option of a 2-year MMJ card, which ensures you skip the usual annual renewal process. This is a good idea if you’re likely to use medical marijuana for a considerable period. However, when all else fails, you can purchase up to an ounce of adult-use marijuana in Nevada if you’re 21+.
Found this post informative? Help us get it in front of people who need the information by SHARING it!