CONSULTATION FEE RANGE
MMJ PURCHASING LIMITS
- 2.5 OUNCES IN 30 DAYS
- CANCER PATIENTS CAN PURCHASE 6 OUNCES IN 30 DAYS
MINIMUM AGE LIMIT
Governor Doug Burgum signed a medical cannabis bill (Measure 5) into law in 2016. Since then, however, the progression of North Dakota’s MMJ program has been painfully slow. The North Dakota Department of Health formally established the program in April 2017. Nonetheless, there were no official manufacturing facilities chosen until May 2018.
Sales were supposed to begin by the spring of 2018. Alas, the language of Measure 5 meant that getting the program off the ground was a tough task. In April 2019, Governor Burgum signed a series of bills into law. These included increasing the number of qualifying conditions. These new laws made it easier for doctors to certify patients and permitted physician assistants to certify MMJ patients.
This continuously-updated article outlines the necessary steps to apply for an ND medical card and answers FAQs on the state’s MMJ program. However, first, let’s check out the penalties for the illegal use of marijuana in ND.
North Dakota Medical Marijuana Laws
Although attempts to legalize recreational marijuana in North Dakota have failed, activists continue to push for adult-use weed. On the plus side, the state eliminated prison time as a punishment for possessing a small amount of marijuana in May 2019. House Bill 1050 ensured that the possession of up to half an ounce among adults aged 21+ is a civil infraction. However, if convicted, you still pay a fine of up to $1,000!
If caught with more than half an ounce, you could spend up to 30 days in jail, as it is classified as a misdemeanor. The potential prison sentence increases to a year if you’re found with 500+ grams.
The sale of ANY amount is a felony with a possible jail term of 3-10 years. Cultivation is also illegal, with penalties based on the aggregate weight of the plants found.
With the above in mind, it is best to apply for an MMJ card in North Dakota to avoid legal trouble. Here’s how to complete the process.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in North Dakota
Applying for a medical marijuana card in North Dakota is pretty simple compared to most other states. All you need is access to a computer, a decent Internet connection, and a few routine identification documents. Here is the step-by-step process for getting medical cannabis identification in ND.
Step 1 – Get in Touch with an ND Healthcare Provider
In ND, you need to use a doctor with whom you have a bona fide doctor-patient relationship. Furthermore, North Dakota does not provide a list of doctors who write medical cannabis recommendations. Therefore, if your provider does not agree to one, you need to find a marijuana-friendly physician.
Step 2 – Schedule a Consultation
Once you find a suitable physician, it is time to book an appointment. The doctor will ask you about your health during the consultation and decide if using MMJ will help you. They will write a recommendation letter if they decide you’re eligible for MMJ.
Step 3 – Sign up for a North Dakota State Government Account
Once you receive the recommendation letter, the next step involves going online and creating an account with the ND BioTrackTHC system. This is the online program to complete and submit North Dakota medical marijuana card applications.
The North Dakota Department of Health (NDDoH) will contact the healthcare provider on your behalf once you provide your doctor’s information. You may not submit your own application; all recommendations are written and submitted directly from the healthcare provider’s office.
Step 4 – Pay & Wait
Once the doctor is ready to submit your application, you must pay the non-refundable fee. Send payment to the following address:
NDDoH, Division of Medical Marijuana
600 East Blvd Ave, Dept 301
Bismarck, ND 58505
You will receive a notification email if you get approved. Incidentally, you can log into your BioTrackTHC account at any time and complete one of the following actions:
- View or edit certain account information
- View or edit an incomplete application
- View your submitted application and track where it is in the review and approval process
- Check your maximum purchase limit balance
Step 5 – Visit a Dispensary
The state has implemented electronic ID cards for patients, designated caregivers, and agents. They work the same as printed cards; you can access them on a smartphone. You can only receive an electronic card when your application is approved and its status is “Issued.” You can access it by logging into the registration system.
Once you possess your MMJ card, you can visit one of the state’s licensed dispensaries.
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in ND?
You can only apply for a medical marijuana card in ND if you are a state resident with a qualifying condition. Unlike most other states with MMJ programs, North Dakota only allows people aged 19+ to apply, although there are provisions for minors.
Cost of MMJ Card in ND
The state’s department of health announced a reduction in the medical marijuana card cost in ND. The application fee was cut from $50 to $25 in October 2022. The consultation fee ranges from $150 to $250.
ND MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions
Here is the list of ND medical marijuana card qualifying conditions:
- Alzheimer’s disease agitation or related dementia
- Anxiety disorder
- Brain injury
- Crohn’s disease
- Decompensated cirrhosis caused by hepatitis C
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Interstitial cystitis
- Intractable spasticity
- Rheumatoid arthritis
- Spinal stenosis or chronic back pain
- Terminal illness
- Tourette syndrome
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including MS
How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in ND?
Once you have submitted the necessary documentation, including the physician’s written certification, you can expect to receive your North Dakota medical marijuana card in 2-4 weeks. You can check the status of your application at any time in your account. There are nine statuses, ranging from “Saved/Waiting” to “Issued.”
If you request a new card, it can take up to 20 calendar days to arrive after approval, and it will also have a new 10-digit code.
How to Renew My North Dakota Medical Card?
The MMJ card is valid for a year, and the renewal process involves seeing a licensed physician again. Please note that you must begin the renewal process within 45 days of your card’s expiration. You can complete the process via the BioTrackTHC system and patient portal.
Other Information on the ND Medical Marijuana License Process
Although the South Dakota MMJ application process is fairly simple, the program contains a raft of information. Below, we outline answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about the state’s medical marijuana program.
What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in ND?
The North Dakota MMJ program allows qualified patients to buy the following types of cannabis:
- Dried leaves and flowers, including pre-rolls
- Concentrates or extracts
- Transdermal patches with a max of 50mg THC per dose
- Topicals with up to 6% THC
The original initiative also included edibles, but they were removed as a consumption method because of a fear that children could mistake them for regular candy.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in ND Online
Several providers, including Leafwell, allow patients to complete their doctor’s consultation online. Furthermore, they offer a money-back guarantee if you’re not approved. Once you register with the service and send your medical records, a doctor will be available. The process generally takes 10-15 minutes; by the end, you’ll know if the physician will provide a written recommendation.
Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in ND?
Yes. Those aged 18 or younger can get MMJ in North Dakota. However, they need a parent or legal guardian to complete the application.
Where Can I Purchase MMJ in North Dakota
You can purchase MMJ from one of eight dispensaries in ND. Here are the names and locations of each one:
- Pure Dakota Health of Bismarck – Bismarck
- Curaleaf – Devil’s Lake
- Curaleaf – Dickinson
- Pure Dakota Health – Fargo
- Strive Life – Grand Forks
- Curaleaf – Jamestown
- Curaleaf – Minot
- Pure Dakota Health of Williston – Williston
How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?
Certified patients and caregivers can purchase up to 2.5 ounces in 30 days (maximum THC concentration of 4000mg) and possess a maximum of three ounces at any time. Those with cancer or otherwise eligible for an enhanced amount can buy up to six ounces in 30 days. Minors who qualify cannot buy or consume dried leaves and flowers.
Can You Grow Marijuana in North Dakota with a Medical Marijuana Card?
Originally, a legislative change meant you could grow cannabis at home if you lived more than 40 miles from a dispensary. However, the introduction of SB 2344 removed this provision. Therefore, you are not permitted to grow cannabis as an MMJ patient in ND.
Where Can I Use My MMJ?
You can only use it at home or in a private residence, and it is illegal to use MMJ in the workplace or a public area. Also, you are not allowed to unwrap packaged cannabis dried leaves & flowers or any other MMJ product inside a dispensary.
Does North Dakota Have Reciprocity Agreements?
No. There are no such agreements between ND and other states.
What Are the Caregiver Rules?
You can choose a designated caregiver if they are a North Dakota resident aged 21+. They must complete the same registration and application steps as patients and complete a criminal background check every two years. Individuals with a felony or misdemeanor drug conviction within the last five years cannot participate in the program. A caregiver can act on behalf of up to five MMJ patients.
What If I Lose My Medical Card in North Dakota?
If you lose your card, it costs $25 to replace it. If you need to change the MMJ card for any other reason, such as a name change, the state charges just $5.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Fargo and Bismarck
Finding a physician to approve you in either Fargo or Bismarck should prove fairly straightforward. However, despite being the most populous city and the state capital, respectively, there is only one dispensary in each location.
The Pure Dakota Health dispensary in Fargo is located at 4302 13th Ave. S. #19, whereas the same brand has its Bismarck dispensary at 1207 Memorial Highway.
MMJ Card for Veterans in ND
Marijuana is increasingly seen as an alternative to opioids for conditions such as chronic pain. United States military veterans have been seriously affected by the opioid crisis, with many now focusing on MMJ. In North Dakota, some clinics might offer a discount for veterans, so shop around to see if you can save a few bucks.
On the MMJ patient application, veterans will be asked a couple of questions about their veteran status. They may qualify for an alternative written certification process based on their answers.
Final Thoughts on Getting a North Dakota Medical Marijuana Card
The medical marijuana program in North Dakota is well-established, and the application process is straightforward. However, MMJ patients believe that the cost of cannabis in North Dakota is too high. You can expect to pay around $330 for an ounce of medium-quality marijuana in the state, well above the national average of $266.
Efforts to legalize recreational marijuana in ND continue to hit roadblocks, so for now, obtaining an MMJ card is the only way to acquire the substance legally.
Please share this article with someone looking for information about applying for an MMJ card in North Dakota if you found it helpful.