How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in CT

This article may contain links to some of our affiliate partners. These are brands we trust and brands we feel represent the highest quality standards. When clicking links, we may earn commissions to help support our site. Learn more by reading our full disclaimer.
Overview
Require a medical marijuana card in CT? Find out if you qualify instantly. Simply read the information below and start the online process today!
State Program
Approved on
JUNE 1, 2021
Online Application
Yes
MD Evaluation
Required
Yes
Card Validity
12Months
Patient
Registry Fee
$100
Phone:
(860) 713-6066
Official Gov Site:
portal.ct.gov

CONSULTATION FEE RANGE

  • $150-$250

MMJ PURCHASING LIMITS

  • MAXIMUM OF 2.5 OUNCES IN ONE MONTH

HOME CULTIVATION?

  • YES

MINIMUM AGE LIMIT

  • 18

Need a Medical Marijuana Card ?

Let us help by Starting Here

The Connecticut medical marijuana program is well-established, but not everyone knows how to get their card. This guide outlines how to get a CT medical card and provides information on frequently asked questions. However, first, let’s look into the penalties associated with the illegal use of marijuana in the state.

connecticut laws

Connecticut Medical Marijuana Laws

Although adult-use marijuana is legal in Connecticut, there are still punishments for the illegal possession, cultivation, and distribution of the substance.

It is legal for adults aged 21+ to possess up to 1.5 ounces of weed in public and a maximum of five ounces in a private residence (in a locked container). If you’re caught with a higher amount, you face a misdemeanor charge and up to a year in prison.

The legal sale of recreational marijuana in Connecticut still hasn’t begun, even though the law came into effect in July 2021. It is unclear when recreational sales will begin, though the big day will likely come sometime in 2023.

As a result, there are still severe penalties for illegal sales. For example, selling any amount remains a felony with a possible jail term of up to seven years.

It is illegal for recreational users to grow marijuana plants until July 2023. At present, you receive a written warning for cultivating up to three mature and three immature plants.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut

Ultimately, it is still worth your while to apply for a Connecticut MMJ card, as you can buy and cultivate marijuana. Here’s how to get yours.

Step 1 – Get in Touch with a CT Healthcare Provider & Schedule a Consultation

The first step involves booking an appointment with a licensed CT doctor to discuss your potential qualifying condition. You will need to provide a valid email address and telephone number when receiving your certification.

ct medical marijuana

If your physician deems you eligible for a qualifying condition, you can complete the registration process online.

Step 2 – Sign up for a CT State Government Account

Create an account with the Connecticut Department of Administrative Services (DAS) Business Network. You only gain access once your physician provides a valid certification. If you try to apply before approval, you get the following message: “You have not been identified as a patient. Please see your physician and verify your email address.”

It is the same situation for a primary caregiver, should you nominate one.

Once you’re registered online, you must verify that the details entered by your physician are accurate. You also need to answer a variety of verification questions. Only then can you proceed with the MMJ online application.

Step 3 – Provide the Official CT Medical Marijuana Program with Proof of Identity

After you’ve completed the online application, you must provide proof of identity and residency before making your payment. Here is the documentation you’ll need:

  • Proof of Identity: Examples include a driver’s license, U.S. Passport, or Certificate of Naturalization.
  • Proof of State Residence: You can prove you are a Connecticut resident by showing a document with your name and residence dated within the last 90 days. Accepted materials include a computer-generated bill from a utility company, a bank statement, or a Medicare/Medicaid benefits statement.

Step 4 – Visit a Dispensary

Once you complete the entire online process, you must wait to receive your MMJ card in the mail. However, the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) also sends a temporary certificate to your email address. You can now buy medical marijuana in Connecticut from an official state-licensed dispensary.

Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in CT?

If you’re a state resident aged 18+ with a qualifying medical condition, you can apply for a medical marijuana card in CT.

medical marijuana ct

Cost of MMJ Card in CT

The medical marijuana card cost in CT includes a $100 application fee. You can also expect to pay between $150 and $250 for a doctor’s consultation.

CT MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions

The list of CT medical marijuana card qualifying conditions is long and includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Nervous tissue damage
  • Epilepsy
  • Cachexia/wasting syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Sickle cell disease
  • Post-laminectomy syndrome
  • Severe psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Complex regional pain syndrome
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Cystic fibrosis
  • Irreversible spinal cord injury
  • Terminal illness requiring end-of-life care
  • Uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder
  • Spasticity (or neuropathic pain associated with fibromyalgia)
  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Postherpetic neuralgia
  • Hydrocephalus (with intractable headache)
  • Neuropathic facial pain
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Osteogenesis imperfecta
  • Chronic neuropathic pain (related to degenerative spinal disorders)
  • Tourette syndrome
  • Interstitial cystitis

How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in CT?

The Connecticut medical marijuana card application may take up to 30 days to process. However, it is usually far quicker than this. In general, you should contact the Connecticut MMJ program directly if you haven’t received your card within three weeks.

How Do I Renew My Connecticut Medical Card?

Medical marijuana cards in Connecticut last for one year from the certification date. This is an important distinction because the clock starts ticking from that moment.

When the expiration date approaches, you and your physician will use the same DCP portal to start the renewal process. We recommend starting weeks in advance so you don’t let the MMJ card expire. If you allow this to happen, you have to start from square one.

Your physician must:

  • Confirm that you are still under their care
  • Provide the date of examination for recertification
  • Confirm there is still a bona fide doctor/patient relationship in place
  • Complete the trio of certifications at the end of the form

You must:

  • Show proof you still live in the state of Connecticut
  • Complete the certification/verification steps at the end of the form
  • Provide an updated photo
  • Pay a registration fee of $100

Your primary caregiver must also provide an updated picture. Also, they need to complete the same certification/verification steps at the end of the application and pay a registration fee of $25.

Other Information on the CT Medical Marijuana License Process

Are you interested in scheduling an appointment with a physician to apply for medical marijuana in Connecticut? If so, there are still a few things to remember. Here are some answers to FAQs about getting an MMJ card in CT.

What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in CT?

Once you have your medical marijuana card in Connecticut, you can enjoy a variety of consumption methods. Dispensaries sell flower, edibles, pre-rolls, topicals, vape products, tinctures, and extracts.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in CT Online

You can make your life easier by using a service such as Veriheal or Leafwell. These providers ensure you benefit from an online consultation with a physician licensed in Connecticut. This meeting usually takes 10-15 minutes. The doctor will initiate the process with the state’s DCP if you’re approved. You then receive access to the online system to complete the patient’s section of the application.

You can expect to pay around $200 for this service, although you must also pay the $100 MMJ program registration fee.

Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in CT?

Yes, however, the list of qualifying conditions for applicants aged 17 or younger is limited to the following:

  • Cystic fibrosis
  • Severe epilepsy
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Terminal illness requiring end-of-life care
  • Osteogenesis imperfecta
  • Uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder
  • Irreversible spinal cord injury with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
  • Tourette syndrome (when the patient has seen no benefit from standard medical treatment)
  • Intractable neuropathic pain that doesn’t respond to standard medical treatment

Minors must schedule appointments with two doctors, one of whom must be their primary care provider. Minors must also have a caregiver.

Where Can I Purchase MMJ in Connecticut?

There are 18 licensed dispensaries in the state, which is reasonable given the relatively small area. Well-known brands such as Curaleaf and Bluepoint Wellness operate within Connecticut. You can see a full list of the available dispensaries on the DCP website.

How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?

The language used by the DCP is a little confusing. It states that the Department allows 3.5 ounces or equivalent per monthly cannabis transaction limit.

However, a dispensary can only dispense a portion of a patient’s monthly transaction limit not exceeding 2.5 ounces. The dispensary can dispense the remaining portion at any time as long as the patient/primary caregiver doesn’t receive more than their approved monthly amount in a one-month period.

Therefore, the maximum amount of marijuana you can buy or possess with a valid MMJ card is 2.5 ounces. This is the maximum 1-month supply as deemed by the state. Some physicians may indicate that you should use a smaller amount.

An ounce of cannabis is the equivalent of five grams of cannabis concentrate or another marijuana product containing 500mg of THC.

Can You Grow Marijuana in Connecticut with a Medical Marijuana Card?

Yes. A new law came into play on October 1, 2021. It is now legal for MMJ cardholders in Connecticut to cultivate a maximum of six marijuana plants (3 mature and 3 immature). If a household has more than one qualifying patient, that limit increases to 12 (6 mature and 6 immature plants).

Where Can I Use My MMJ?

As in most other states, you can only use MMJ in a private residence in Connecticut. You are not allowed to use marijuana in any moving vehicle or public place, including the workplace. It is also illegal to use it in the presence of anyone under 18 or within 1,000 feet of school grounds or any university/college property (including dormitories).

Also, you can’t use marijuana for palliative (preventative) care if it endangers the health of anyone other than the patient or primary caregiver.

Does Connecticut Have a Reciprocity Agreement?

No. At present, Connecticut does not accept out-of-state MMJ cards. However, other states may accept valid MMJ cards from CT.

What Are the Caregiver Rules?

If you or your physician’s office outlines the need for a primary caregiver, you must register them on the DCP application. Otherwise, they will not give you a registration certificate. You must identify the person in question as your primary caregiver and verify some medical information on the application form.

Next, the primary caregiver has to provide a valid email address and a primary telephone number. Then they need to create an account with the DAS Business Network (the same way you did). They will answer a series of questions and submit an I.D. in addition to paying a $25 registration fee.

For patients and primary caregivers, please use the following address when mailing supplemental documents:

Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection,

Medical Marijuana Program,

165 Capitol Ave,

MS# 88MMP

Hartford, CT

06106-1630

What If I Lose My Medical Card in Connecticut?

If you lose your CT medical marijuana card, you must complete an online form and send a $10 fee to the DCP within five business days. The Department will send you a new card.

When Did Medical Marijuana in Connecticut Become Legal?

Connecticut legalized medical marijuana in June 2012, joining dozens of other states. The Constitution State established its MMJ program shortly after taking steps toward decriminalizing the substance. In June 2011, a new law stated that being caught in possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana was only punishable by a $150 fine rather than a misdemeanor charge.

Things got even better for weed lovers in Connecticut when Governor Lamont signed SB 1201 into law in June 2021. This piece of legislation permitted the use of recreational marijuana amongst residents aged 21+. There is now protection from the law, although adult-use sales have yet to begin.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Bridgeport and Hartford

You can apply with Veriheal or Leafwell and schedule an online consultation. However, there is no shortage of doctors in Hartford willing to certify MMJ patients. Once you have your card, travel to the Curaleaf dispensary on Weston Street.

Bridgeport rejected the MMJ industry for over a decade. In July 2022, the largest municipality in Connecticut voted to approve amended regulations allowing marijuana retail sales. There are currently no dispensaries in Bridgeport, but that could soon change.

MMJ Card for Veterans in CT

With such a wide range of possible qualifying conditions, veterans living in Connecticut should be able to qualify for an MMJ card. Some clinics and online providers offer military discounts.

Final Thoughts on Getting a Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card

The Connecticut medical marijuana program is extremely well-established, making it relatively easy to apply for an MMJ card. You can schedule an in-person consultation with a licensed physician or use a service like Veriheal to talk to the doctor online. You can complete the rest of your application online if you receive approval. From there, you have the option to buy medical weed from one of many licensed dispensaries within the state.

Although recreational marijuana is legal in Connecticut, it will be some time before sales officially begin. It also remains illegal to cultivate cannabis without an MMJ card. Therefore, there are advantages to applying for one, so if you want to proceed, let us help!

Need a Medical Marijuana Card ?

Let us help by Starting Here

[Found this post informative? Help us get it in front of other people who need the information by SHARING it!]

Article Sources:
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
Join The Discussion

By clicking "Post Comment” you agree with our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

    TOC
    Premium
    Your subscription has ended
    If you love cannabis and want to support our site, join WayofLeaf Premium today and unlock
    Best of all, part of your membership fee will go towards supporting the fight to legalize cannabis.
    Sign Up for WoL Premium
    Not now
    DMCA.com Protection Status © 2000 - 2023 All Rights Reserved Digital Millennium Copyright Act Services Ltd. | DMCA.com

    WayofLeaf use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. More Information