CONSULTATION FEE RANGE
- $99 – $200
MMJ PURCHASING LIMITS
- UP TO FOUR OUNCES OF DRIED, UNPROCESSED MARIJUANA EVERY 30 DAYS; EQUIVALENT TO 32 MME UNITS PER MONTH (ONE MME UNIT = 100MG THC)
MINIMUM AGE LIMIT
On November 6, 2018, 66% of Missourians said “yes” to Amendment 2. The measure legalized medical marijuana in the state of Missouri. It outlined sale, possession, and cultivation limits, along with a provision to provide a 4% tax. The proceeds of this sales tax are set aside for services to provide for military veterans.
The state has come a long way in a short time. In 2014, Senate Bill 491 reduced penalties for possessing up to 10 grams of marijuana. Moreover, in July 2014, a “Medical Marijuana Bill” only permitted CBD oil for patients with persistent seizures.
As is typically the case, the process of voting for an MMJ program and its implementation has taken a while. Finally, licensed sales began in October 2020. This was swiftly followed by recreational legalization in November 2022.
If you want to learn more about the MMJ program in Missouri, this guide is for you. We give you step-by-step instructions to apply for the MO medical card and answer a few FAQs on the program. However, we first look at the state’s cannabis laws.
Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws
The state removed the threat of prison for the possession of a small amount of cannabis via Senate Bill 491 in May 2014. However, the law didn’t take effect until January 2017. It ensured you won’t be jailed for possessing fewer than 10 grams of marijuana.
However, it was still a minor misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500. Moreover, a second offense could have resulted in a prison term of up to one year. If you were caught with over 35 grams, you faced a felony charge and could have spent up to seven years in jail!
The push toward full legalization, which ended in success, has made life much easier for marijuana users in the state. Missouri voters said ‘yes’ to Amendment 3 in November 2022, allowing adults aged 21+ in the state to buy and possess up to three ounces of marijuana.
The sale of any amount of cannabis without the requisite license was also a felony with a maximum incarceration period of four years. Furthermore, growing cannabis without an MMJ card remained illegal until adult-use weed was permitted. At the time, the punishment for growing any number of plants was the same as for selling the substance. However, adults can now grow six mature and six immature plants in a private residence, along with six plants under 14 inches tall.
However, accessing medical marijuana still has benefits, so find out how to get your card below.
How to Get a Missouri Medical Marijuana Card
The DHSS worked hard to ensure the program was workable from the outset. MMJ sales finally began in October 2020, and patients must visit the DHSS website to apply online.
Incidentally, you need one of the following forms of identification to prove your state residency:
- A valid Missouri driver’s license
- A valid Missouri I.D. card
- A current Missouri motor vehicle registration
- A recent Missouri utility bill
Step 1 – Get in Touch with an MO Healthcare Provider & Schedule a Consultation
When MMJ is newly legalized in a state, it can take years for a program to get off the ground. However, the Missouri DHSS has clearly outlined the steps you must take and did its best to get things moving quickly.
First and foremost, schedule an evaluation with an MD or DO in “good standing” in Missouri. The physician will look at your medical records during the consultation and ask questions. The goal is to ensure you are a viable candidate for MMJ.
In most cases, you need the Standard Physician Certification Form. However, applicants seeking a higher monthly dosage must fill in the Alternative Physician Certification Form. Indeed, they must submit two of these forms, completed by two different doctors. If the physicians recommend a different limit on the forms, you are entitled to the lower of the two dosages. Minors must fill in a Parent/Legal Guardian Consent Form.
Step 2 – Sign up for a Missouri MMJ Program Online
You can register online via the Registry Portal. Next, choose the “Patient/Caregiver Application Registration” box. You will likely be warned that you are going off the main website. Click “yes” to give permission, and you will be on the registry. Please note that the DHSS only accepts completed applications sent via the registry.
Step 3 – Complete Your Missouri Medical Marijuana Card Application
You are required to apply within 30 days of receiving your physician’s recommendation. Log in to the Registry Portal, click “Create Application” and “New Patient Registration.” The DHSS will complete its evaluation within 30 days and process forms in the order it receives them.
The DHSS will email you requesting corrections if it believes you have not completed the form properly. You have ten days to make the changes, or your application will get rejected. Upon approval, you will receive an email with a patient ID that you can print out. This is the only proof you need because the Missouri MMJ program doesn’t issue physical cards.
Step 4 – Visit a Dispensary
Once you have your patient ID number, you’re free to visit one of the growing number of dispensaries in Missouri.
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in MO?
Only residents aged 18+ are eligible to apply for a medical marijuana card in MO. You must also have a qualifying condition, a list of which we outline below.
Cost of Missouri Medical Marijuana Card
The medical marijuana card cost in MO includes a $27.76 application fee, and caregivers must pay the same amount.
The card is valid for a year, and the renewal fee is also $27.76. To grow cannabis, you must pay an extra $110.99. The average price for a consultation in Missouri is between $99 and $200.
MO MMJ Card Qualifying Conditions
The list of medical marijuana card qualifying conditions in MO includes:
- Intractable migraines (that do not respond to other treatments)
- Severe or persistent pain/muscle spasms (including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome)
- Psychiatric disorders (including but not limited to PTSD)
- A chronic medical condition typically treated with prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence. This is when a physician determines that MMJ is potentially useful in treating that condition. They must also suggest it serves as a safer alternative to a prescription drug.
- Any terminal illness
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Sickle cell anemia
- Alzheimer’s disease agitation
- Cachexia and wasting syndrome
- In a doctor’s professional judgment, any chronic, debilitating, or other medical condition, including hepatitis C
In many ways, Missouri residents are fortunate. There were a pair of alternative options to Amendment 2. Had either passed, they would have severely limited the list of qualifying conditions.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in MO?
It is a matter of how long it takes to book a consultation and receive approval. Once you submit a completed application, the DHSS aims to process it within 30 days. However, you may receive your card in as little as two weeks.
How to Renew My Missouri Medical Card?
It is recommended that you begin the renewal process once your card’s expiration date is less than 60 days away. You should apply at least 30 days before your card expires to give the DHSS enough time to process it.
You’ll find that the entire process should take a maximum of 20 minutes once you log into the DHSS website. Click on the “Patient/Caregiver Application Registration” tab, and you’ll be redirected to the Missouri Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) Registry Portal.
Enter your username and password. Next, click on “Create New Application,” “Patient,” “Patient Renewal,” and “Create Application.” Select your patient license number and ensure your information is up to date. The next step is to click on “Physician Information” and change the certification type from manual to electronic. You’ll also have the option to grow cannabis if you don’t already have that allowance.
At this stage, you must upload the documents proving you’re a Missouri resident, including proof of address and a photo ID. Pay the renewal fee and the additional payment if you plan to grow marijuana at home. Please remember that the state only issues its MMJ cards digitally.
Other Information on the MO Medical Marijuana License Process
With the MMJ program well underway, it is easier to provide you with additional information.
What Types of Cannabis Can I Purchase in MO?
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in MO Online
The only way you can get a Missouri MMJ card is online. You must apply via the MMMP Registry Portal and wait for the DHSS to issue your MMJ card. Furthermore, you receive an ID number that you print out rather than receiving a card through the mail.
Certain providers can help with an all-in-one service if you are interested. The doctors at NuggMD are licensed in Missouri and can provide consultations. The process is as follows:
- Create an account with NuggMD for the state of Missouri.
- Complete the requisite documentation and make sure you provide your medical records.
- Participate in an online consultation.
- You will receive your doctor’s recommendation via email within 48 hours if approved. Then you can proceed to Step 2. The company claims you could get your doctor’s approval within 15 minutes.
However, you may still need to wait up to 30 days once you apply via the portal after receiving certification.
Can I Register My Child for Medical Marijuana in MO?
Applicants under 18 can qualify if they are emancipated or have a parent or legal guardian to act as a caregiver.
Where Can I Purchase MMJ in Missouri?
The DHSS has awarded an impressive 192 licenses to dispensaries. There will ultimately be 24 dispensaries in each of Missouri’s eight congressional districts. The above is the minimum number. There is every possibility of further dispensaries should the demand warrant it. At present, a significant percentage of companies with licenses have already opened dispensaries.
How Much Cannabis Can I Buy & Possess?
The Missouri MMJ program allows patients to purchase and possess up to four ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana every 30 days. This is classified as the equivalent of 32 Missouri Marijuana Equivalency (MME) units each month.
The state says that a single MME equates to 1 gram of THC concentrate, 3.5 grams of flower, or 100mg of a THC-infused product. Therefore, you can purchase 32 grams of cannabis concentrate or 3,200mg of THC-infused products every 30 days. You can apply for a larger dose by completing a particular form.
Qualified patients not cultivating cannabis can have a maximum of a 60-day supply. You can have a maximum of a 90-day supply if you grow marijuana for medical use or your primary caregiver is cultivating it on your behalf. Please note that the cannabis grown must remain on private property under the patient’s or caregiver’s control.
Can You Grow Marijuana in Missouri with a Medical Marijuana Card?
Yes. However, you must complete a separate application form and pay an additional $110.99. The limit is six flowering plants, six non-flowering plants (under 14 inches tall), and six clones grown from clippings. This means a total of 18 plants.
Two qualifying patients with valid MMJ cards can grow up to 12 flowering plants, 12 non-flowering plants, and 12 clones in a single, enclosed, locked facility. If one of the patients is also a caregiver for another MMJ patient, they can add six flowering plants, six non-flowering plants, and six clones for a total of 18 of each plant. In these scenarios, the cannabis can’t leave the property where it is grown.
Please note that you must provide the address of your cannabis garden on your application. You also agree to allow the DHSS to inspect your garden.
Where Can I Use My MMJ?
If you are an MMJ patient, you are still prohibited from consuming cannabis in public places. You can only use it at home or in a private residence. It is also illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. If caught, you can expect a similar punishment to DUI, where alcohol is involved.
Can I Take My MMJ to a Different State?
Legal experts in Missouri suggest that Amendment 2 does permit out-of-state reciprocity of MMJ cards. Subsection 5(1) of the Amendment, on page 10, says:
“Production of the respective equivalent identification card or authorization issued by another state or political subdivision of another state shall also meet the requirements of this subdivision.”
Therefore, you should theoretically avoid arrest if you have an MMJ card from another state and stay within Missouri law.
However, the official Missouri MMJ website says there is no reciprocity between MO’s program and other state medical marijuana programs. Therefore, you are NOT automatically entitled to get an MMJ card or buy cannabis in Missouri if you have a medical marijuana card in another state.
You probably won’t get arrested for possession of cannabis within Missouri’s legal limits if you have an MMJ card from another state. Yet, we recommend avoiding the purchase of MMJ in Missouri unless you have the state’s medical marijuana card. Remember, you could face a felony charge for possessing over 35 grams.
What Are the Caregiver Rules?
Caregivers must complete a Patient Authorization Form with the patient’s license number. The patient receives that number when their application is approved, and it begins with the letters “PAT.” Patients are permitted to designate up to two caregivers. Caregivers pay a fee of $27.76 and are only eligible if they are a resident of Missouri and aged 21+.
It is only legal to become a caregiver to a maximum of three patients in Missouri. They also pay the $110.99 fee if they intend to grow marijuana on a patient’s behalf.
A caregiver is mandatory for minors unless they are emancipated.
What If I Lose My Medical Card in Missouri?
If you lose your MMJ patient ID number, you must email the Missouri DHSS within two days, notifying them of the situation.
When Did Medical Marijuana in Missouri Become Legal?
Medical marijuana was legalized in Missouri in November 2018, but sales didn’t begin for almost two years. Amendment 3, a measure looking to legalize recreational marijuana in MO, was approved by the voters in November 2022. The law took effect the following month, with recreational sales starting in February 2023.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in the Ozarks
Finding a physician who will provide an MMJ consultation in the Ozarks is relatively easy. Many clinics offer a full refund if you’re not approved. Once you receive your patient ID number, there are plenty of dispensaries to choose from in the vast Ozarks region.
Medical Marijuana Card MO for Veterans
The MMJ program in Missouri has generated approximately $14 million in funding for veterans in the state. Numerous clinics offer discounts on consultations for military veterans, and with a long list of qualifying conditions, there’s a decent chance of being approved by a doctor.
Final Thoughts on Getting a Missouri Medical Marijuana Card
Missouri legalized MMJ in November 2018, but it took almost two years for sales to begin. However, the state is making up for lost time, with new dispensaries seemingly opening every week. The state has also legalized adult-use cannabis. Nonetheless, you might find that there are benefits associated with a Missouri MMJ card that you can’t get as a recreational user. The process is straightforward and affordable.
[Have any additional questions about medical marijuana in Missouri? Feel free to reach out to state officials at firstname.lastname@example.org]
Found this post informative? Help us get it in front of people who need the information by SHARING it.